An International Canadian Thanksgiving in America

Canadian Thanksgiving was yesterday, and seeing that everyday is a time to be thankful, I thought it would not hurt to post a day later. In celebration we had a potluck dinner with the neighbours where we shared a variety of delicious dishes. Even though we were celebrating Canadian thanksgiving it was more like an international thanksgiving–our dinner table was comprised of people from the United States, Poland and England in addition to Canada.

As I’m located 5,200 km away from my family, I am made increasingly aware of the many blessings I have been given. Firstly, I have the privilege of studying at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution where practically everything has been paid for besides food and toiletries. We’ve been blessed with a supervisor who is not only great at his job but who is also extremely helpful and generous with his time. Second, I have a wonderful family who send me their love and support all the way across the continent. For this reason I am also thankful for technology and its countless abilities…from facebook to skype as well as the dying art of snail mail. The list could go on and on, but here are several more things I am currently thankful for:

Wonderful sunshine and brisk breezes (my favourite kind of weather!).
Ocean views and changing leaves.
A fridge full of fresh food (even though we’re running out of creative meal ideas).
New friends and neighbours from around the world.
The ability to knit and draw while relaxing with a tasty cup of hot chocolate.
Ultimately I am thankful to be a child of God saved by His grace. “Give thanks to the LORD for he is good, his love endures forever” Psalm 136:1

Happy belated Canadian Thanksgiving, and Happy (very early) Thanksgiving to all you Americans out there!

Tagged

Leave a Reply

