Woods Hole Hobbies

One of my daily hobbies here at Woods Hole is knitting. It’s a great way to keep my hands occupied while letting my mind wander a bit…although not too much as that leads to mistakes. I must say that I have made my fair share of mistakes as Audrey can attest to. I have probably knit as much as I’ve taken out since arriving in Woods Hole. My patience threshold is definitely increasing as it seems like I take two steps forward and one step back. I guess that would be two stitches forward and one stitch backward. My first project was a hunter green cowl. I found the free pattern on Ravelry (a free knitting and crocheting pattern database), and you can find the pattern here if you are inclined to knit one as well.

What I have been knitting since then are cup cozies. I have to confess that the first one started out as a sock (it was my first attempt at knitting socks). As I started to knit the heel I realized that the pattern I was following had a bunch of mistakes in it. I attempted to interpret the pattern, but alas I could not salvage it without losing too much of my mind. So I unraveled the bottom part of my sock and turned it into a cup cozy. Since I bought enough yarn to make a pair of socks, I decided to keep going with the cup cozy concept. Making cup cozies is actually a pretty good way of trying out new patterns from stitch libraries. If you’re unfamiliar with the world of knitting, a stitch library has countless samples of stitches that aren’t used in actual patterns. They are just samples of stitches that you can incorporate into any project.

As I was working on a draft of this post, I finished knitting my toque. I searched high and low for a toque pattern with cables that is knit in the round with worsted weight yarn. I have learned my lesson to find a pattern first and then purchase yarn, as much time was wasted looking for the right one. I took my chances on the pattern I used as it said it was for a child, but I crossed my fingers and hoped it would fit my slightly large head. Low and behold it fit perfectly! The ribbing around the bottom, however, feels slightly loose in comparison to the crown. So next time I would plan to use a smaller sized needle for the first couple inches (as the pattern recommends). But if you’re feeling inspired to knit this pattern, it’s available here for free.

Another activity that keeps me occupied is sketching. While in Woods Hole, I have tried to spend quality time every week exercising the right side of my brain. All of my sketches are done on site or from photos I have taken. I definitely feel that drawing regularly has made me more confident in sketching from real life instead of from photographs. Lately I have been using pens instead of pencils. I find that having no option of erasing forces me to think about what I am doing before I commit to a line or shape.  Yesterday was a particularly gratifying day as I spent a couple hours in Woods Hole. Since it was a holiday, the place was practically deserted (more empty than normal). I spent a while sitting at a picnic table outside Pie in the Sky drinking coffee, eating a delicious cannoli and doing a sketch of the coffee shop. I did not bother to bring along a watch as I wanted to relax, so my only gauge of time was the setting of the sun. I must have been drawing there for a decent amount of time as the birds were starting to think I was a regular fixture. I felt a little like Snow White with her animal entourage, haha. Below are images of my sketches thus far (sorry, they are not the greatest of quality!). I will not be doing too many more as I only have one double-sided page left in my sketchbook…

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Woods Hole Hobbies

  1. It looks cute! I don’t think I have the patience to knit! I love your sketches! Have you thought of offering graphic design services (particularly I’m imagining the ever popular hand drawn lettering that is so popular now.. I see it lots in wedding stationary)?

    • rosalieluymes says:

      thanks Alyssa! I have often thought about it and would love to get into it, but I’m not really sure where to begin 🙂

  2. Melanie says:

    You are so very talented my dear friend!

Leave a Reply

