Homeward Bound

There are times in life that you know you’ll look back on and remember for many years to come. This trip to Woods Hole is one of those events. In a state of reflection, it is difficult to view these past months without getting slightly emotional.

In two months I have learnt more than I ever thought possible. I have used machines I only heard mentioned on crime shows. I have met new people and am delighted to say they have become dear friends. I have biked more in the past 60 days than my entire life combined. I have lost more trivia competitions than I care to count but had the time of my life doing it. I have seen more sunsets and dazzling skies than ever before. I have made sushi for the first time, eaten a steak the size of a dinner plate, roasted marshmallows over a barbeque, and enjoyed copious amounts of clam chowder. I have seen countless cardinals and blue jays. I have ridden on a bike, car, ferry, bus, shuttle, subway, tour boat and plane. I have filled a sketchbook with my adventures. I have knit more than my fair share of cup cozies. I have seen the Statue of Liberty, the Empire State building, visited the 9/11 memorial, and watched the Lion King on Broadway. I have watched rolling waves crash on the sand. I have frolicked on the beach and in the snow. I have learned the true weight of groceries in a back pack. I have experienced the dazzling colours of a New England fall. I have felt the crispness of howling winds. I have climbed lighthouses. I have learned to live and love a life more simple. I have seen aquatic animals from all over the globe, touched a cownose ray, visited Paul Revere’s Grave, Old North Church, the USS Constitution and Bunker Hill Monument. I have seen masterpieces created by van Gogh, Degas, Rembrandt, Gaugin, Monet, and Renoir. I have stepped on a snake. I have seen hoards of horseshoe crabs sprawled on the beach. I have choked on my fair share of bugs. I have swum in the Atlantic Ocean. I have been frustrated and confused, delighted and awed. I have experienced hospitality only heard of in story books. I have stood in wonder at the blessings my Lord has given me. I am undeserved and not worthy but am nonetheless thankful.

I extend a heartfelt thank you to those who have made this experience possible, enjoyable, and most certainly memorable. Alongside these thoughts come bittersweet emotions. There are two sides to the coin. Waiting for me at home are my fantastic family and friends…a life wonderfully familiar. What I am leaving behind I also hold dear…an adventure of a lifetime. I leave behind a little piece of me in Woods Hole with hope that I may return some day in the future. But onward and outward….New adventures await, and they begin with a return flight home.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

